Awards and Honors

Zonta "Stars" Shine Bright:

We are proud to recognize outstanding accomplishments by Zonta members who are going beyond their local club and foundation responsibilities to make a larger difference in the world:

Karen Pati, past club President (2005-2006), was elected to the role of Governor, Zonta District 11, in June 2014.  District 11 comprises more than 40 clubs in the southeastern United States, from North Carolina to the Caribbean.  A former Director, Zonta Area 6, she will hold the position for two years.

Linda Robison, past club President (2008-2009 and 2010-2011) was elected in June 2014 to the position of Director, Zonta Area 6, which includes our own club and those in Sarasota, Port Charlotte/Punta Gorda, Fort Myers, Bonita Springs and Naples.  She will hold the position until June 2015.

Darla Letourneau, past club President (2004-2005), was selected by WGCU-TV as a Maker (Women Who Make Southwest Florida) for 2014, based primarily on her advocacy work for the safety organization BikeWalkLee.  She and her fellow Makers were recognized at a ceremony in Naples in March, 2014 and in a presentation broadcast later on WGCU, a PBS affiliate.

Nola Theiss, past club President (2006-2007) and founder of Human Trafficking Awareness Partnerships, has been selected by WGCU-TV as a Maker for 2015, for her work in the area of social justice, particularly human trafficking.  Recognition ceremonies are scheduled to take place early in 2015.

Carla Brooks Johnston (1940-2011) was selected by WGCU posthumously as a Maker (Women Who Make Southwest Florida) in 2013, the first year these awards were given, for her political activism in the region.  She served four years on the Sanibel City Council, 2005-2009, two of them as mayor and two as vice mayor.  She was also a recognized lecturer and author.